AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited: Board Members

Mary-Jane Daly


Mary-Jane (‘MJ’) Daly was appointed as a director of AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited on 1 July 2022 and is Chair of the Board. MJ has a strong background in insurance and financial services in a variety of roles both in New Zealand and the UK. She is also an Independent Director of Fonterra Shareholders Fund, Kiwibank Limited and Kiwi Property Group Limited. MJ is the former Chair of the Earthquake Commission as has previously held governance roles at Auckland Transport, Cigna Life Insurance, Onepath Life and Airways Corporation. MJ has also held senior executive positions at State Insurance, IAG, and Fonterra.

Toni Ferrier

LLB (Hons), CEO - AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited

Toni Ferrier is the CEO of AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited. Toni is also a Director of Fergus Trade Software Limited and a Chartered Member of the NZ Institute of Directors. Toni joined AIG with a 25-year career with extensive legal, governance and insurance experience. After working as a commercial litigation lawyer in New Zealand and the UK; Toni has held executive roles at Lumley Insurance (Wesfarmers) and Crombie Lockwood Brokers. Most recently Toni was a Director on the Board of Accuro Health Insurance and a Commissioner at the New Zealand Earthquake Commission; this has given her experience working with the Crown and with a business owned by its members. Toni has extensive experience in both the intermediated and bank insurance markets. She has lead teams across all critical insurance functions (sales, underwriting, claims, distribution, portfolio management) - including disaster response. Toni is well known for being a collaborative and effective leader with key strengths in developing and deploying strategy, leadership, delivering commercial outcomes, customer led organisational design and shifting organisational culture.

Tibor Nagy

CFO Australia & New Zealand - AIG Australia Limited

Tibor Nagy commenced as an Executive Director of AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited in July 2020. Tibor is currently the CFO of AIG New Zealand and Australia. His extensive 25+ years’ experience with AIG spans numerous senior finance, accounting and leadership roles across many countries, including the USA, UK, India, France, Romania, Poland, and his native Hungary, as well as Australia and New Zealand.

Tibor graduated as an Economist from the Budapest Business School and is a Chartered Accountant under IFRS and Hungarian GAAP.

Peter Tynan


Peter was appointed as an independent director of AIG Insurance New Zealand Limited on 20 January 2020. Peter chairs the Board Risk Committee. He has a strong finance and management background and particular expertise in health insurance. He qualified as a chartered accountant. He is CEO of Foundation North and Deputy Chair at UNIMED Health Insurance. Peter was recently Interim Chief Executive at the Royal College of General Practitioners, and prior to that, CEO at the Kaipara District Council based in Northland. He was Chief Executive at Southern Cross Health Society from 2012 to 2017 and has held a number of senior executive positions in various organisations, including American Express and the Mount Cook Group. He is a former Board member of the Health Funds NZ and the International Federation of Health Plans (IFHP) and has spent time on the Auckland Hockey Association Board. He is a member of the Institute of Directors.